Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday: DEEP CREEK by Dana Hand

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:


DEEP CREEK: A Novel
by Dana Hand

Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
(February 10, 2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0547237480
ISBN-13: 978-0547237480


Description (from Amazon.com):

Idaho Territory, June 1887. A small-town judge takes his young daughter fishing, and she catches a man. Another body surfaces, then another. The final toll: over 30 Chinese gold miners brutally murdered. Their San Francisco employer hires Idaho lawman Joe Vincent to solve the case.

Soon he journeys up the wild Snake River with Lee Loi, an ambitious young company investigator, and Grace Sundown, a m├ętis mountain guide with too many secrets. As they track the killers across the Pacific Northwest, through haunted canyons and city streets, each must put aside lies and old grievances to survive a quest that will change them forever.

Deep Creek is a historical thriller inspired by actual events and people: the 1887 massacre of Chinese miners in remote and beautiful Hells Canyon, the middle-aged judge who went after their slayers, and the sham race-murder trial that followed. This American tragedy was long suppressed and the victims nearly forgotten; Deep Creek teams history and imagination to illuminate how and why, in a seamless, fast-moving tale of courage and redemption, loss and love. A dazzling new novel for fans of Leif Enger, Lisa See, and Ivan Doig.


"Dana Hand has created a remarkable book—both a high-voltage crime novel and a true account of a violent episode in the history of the American frontier. And it works—vividly, with a fierce narrative power that never slows down." — Samuel Hynes, author of The Growing Seasons.

Click here to visit the author's website for background information on the real-life case, maps, reader's guides, and additional pre-publication praise.

About the Author (from Amazon.com):

Dana Hand is the pen name of Will Howarth and Anne Matthews, who live and work in Princeton, New Jersey. Under their own names, they have published eighteen nonfiction books on American history, literature, and public issues. DEEP CREEK is their first novel.

"WAITING ON WEDNESDAY"
is hosted byJill from
Breaking the Spine.
Join in and tell us . . .


What are you waiting for?

13 comments:

Sandra said...

Sounds like quite a story, and an interesting setting too. I like a mystery with something different in it. Enjoy your book when you get it.

Diane said...

WOW..sounds really good. Where did you hear about this Feb 2010 release already?

Here is mine: http://bibliophilebythesea.blogspot.com/2009/07/waiting-on-wednesday-locust-and-bird.html

bermudaonion said...

That sounds fascinating. I've never read anything about that massacre.

Gwendolyn B. said...

Diane: I was trolling through upcoming releases and new catalogs. I don't remember exactly how I found this, but it is up as a secured pdf on NetGalley. (I'm going to request a print copy, tho.)

Mary said...

I'm a fan of Lisa See and Ivan Doig, so I'll be watching for this book!

Jill said...

I'm hooked! Great pick...!

Dar said...

This sounds really good Gwendolyn. Mine is here.

Staci said...

This one sounds truly interesting. I love Lisa See and the mystery behind who killed all of these Chinese workers sounds intriguing.

Zibilee said...

I am intrigued by this book. I recently read a historical thriller, and quite liked it, so I think I will wait on this book as well. Thanks!

Lit and Life said...

This sounds really interesting--historical fiction wrapped up in a murder mystery. Looking forward to it.

Icedream said...

I've been on a bit of a "based on actual events" mood lately. This books sounds really good and fits in perfectly. I will add it to my soon-to-be-released wish list (yes, I have separate wish lists! LOL)

kalea_kane said...

What a wonderful looking book! I am so glad to learn about it. I am now waiting on it too. :)

Cathy said...

Wow - what a mystery! Nice choice - will have to keep an eye out for it.