Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday: THE UNBELIEVERS by Alastair Sim


"WAITING ON WEDNESDAY"
is hosted by Jill from

Join in and tell us . . .

What are you waiting for?

My pick for this week is . . .



by Alastair Sim

Pub. Date: September 2010
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Format: Hardcover, 336pp
ISBN-13: 9780312621698
ISBN: 0312621698

Description (from the publisher):
A brooding, Victorian murder mystery set in the Scottish Highlands and featuring Inspector Allerdyce and Sergeant McGillivray.

Scotland’s richest man has been shot dead and dumped down a well. Was the Duke of Dornoch murdered by one of the miners whose wages he cut because of “market forces”? Was he killed in return for his part in clearing the Highlands of their people? Did a discarded lover take their final revenge?

Inspector Allerdyce and Sergeant McGillivray VC must find out before the killer strikes again. But their search, from the material heights of Victorian society to its moral dregs, threatens to overturn everything Allerdyce believes and loves.

In the tradition of Charles Finch and The Somnambulist, Alastair Sim has crafted a memorable, atmospheric novel that covers new ground in the world of Victorian mysteries.

About the author (from the publisher):
ALASTAIR SIM has published stories and playscripts in magazines, anthologies and on the web. The Unbelievers is one of two books which he wrote while in the University of Glasgow’s prestigious Masters in Creative Writing course.

15 comments:

Lori said...

Love the cover...this book actually is appealing to me. I hope that you get your book soon and that it is everything you hope it to be. Here is what I am Waiting on Wednesday for.

Zibilee said...

Oh, this one sounds good! I love to read about the Scottish Highlands, and though I am not much of a mystery person, this one sounds really interesting. Thanks for sharing it!

Nina said...

Mystery is not my favourite genre. But it does take place in Scotland (which I love) and the victorian era (Which I love too). Great pick.

Darlene said...

Good pick! I noticed this one the other day - sounds good and great cover. My pick is here.

Sarah said...

I do love the cover on this one! Greak Pick!

April said...

Ohhh, this sounds excellent! I love love love the cover! On my wish list it goes....

Anonymous said...

The cover is goregous. So much easier to carry a book around with a lovely cover than one that is not. The story line sounds great.

CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

bermudaonion said...

This sounds great and the cover seems to set the stage very well.

Alayne said...

Ooooh that cover is delicious! Awseome pick, thanks for sharing it. My WOW is at The Crowded Leaf.

audreygeddes said...

I love Victorian history and mystery books. Thanks for sharing this great book! I'll have to get that one next after I am finished with my non-fiction pick called, "Sun of god," by Gregory Sams, which is about whether we should worship the Sun or regard it as a god. It's worth checking out if you would like to know more about our place in the universe.

Carrie at In the Hammock Blog said...

oooh, a victorian mystery! sounds great!

Bibliophile By the Sea said...

I am drooling over the cover already; thanks Gwen.

librarypat said...

Wonderful cover. I love a good mystery and the Scottish Highlands one of my favorite settings.
Can't wait to read it.

June G said...

I'm not a lover of mysteries, but I get the feeling this would be a good read. I'm already wondering who killed the guy!

Thanks for stopping by yesterday. You're right. "Rich and Mad" is set in England. Keep your eyes open because when I'm finished reading it, I'm having a giveaway. The publisher sent me a second copy!

clenna said...

Sounds really good.